Kale Chips

I was at Trader Joe’s and saw how cheap a big bag of kale was and I knew what I had to do.

I had to buy it.

And make kale chips.

This is my first time ever making kale chips. I have bought them numerous times from Alfafa House and loved them but I just never got around to making my own. Until now.

I used a recipe that I found off Google but the chips turned out a bit too salty. Below is the altered and improved version.

Cheezy Kale Chips

1/3 cup cashews
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1 Tsp garlic powder
3/4 cup nutritional yeast
1/2 lemon, juiced
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 bunch of kale (I used half bag from TJs, so around 150g)

1.Preheat oven to 150F or as low as your oven can go.

2. Wash and dry kale. Remove stems and break into large pieces. (If you are using ready‐to‐use kale like me then congrats you may skip this step. Just remember to remove the stems.)

3. Blend all ingredients except kale in a blender until a thick, smooth paste has formed.

IMG_4143

4. In a large bowl, combine the sauce with the kale. Now is the time to get down and dirty with your hands. Rub the sauce into kale leaves with your fingers until all of them are evenly coated with the sauce.

IMG_4144

5. Lay the leaves on a baking sheet. Keep them in a single layer. Use more than one baking sheet if necessary.

IMG_4145

6. Bake for 2 hours or until the kale chips are crispy. Let cool completely before storing them in an airtight container.

IMG_4150

IMG_4151

 

Leave a Reply

